Howdy, ya’ll. SAGindie returned from the 2024 South By Southwest Festival and boy did we have ourselves a time. SXSW ’24 ran from March 8 – 15, in Austin, Texas, and saw the return of high-profile films, hidden gem indies, lots of parties (including the SAGindie Happy Hour), and panels and workshops on filmmaking, music, tech, and more (including SAGindie’s low-budget contract workshop – thanks to all the filmmakers who attended!).

The festival also featured in-demand speakers such as Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, Mark Duplass & Mel Eslyn, Sterlin Harjo, and Jane Fonda, among many others. See below for videos of the featured sessions and the full list of the film festival’s Jury and Audience Award-winners!


SXSW 2024 Keynote: Daniels – How We Pulled Off Everything Everywhere All at Once


SXSW 2024 Featured Session: The Future of Indie TV with Duplass Brothers Productions


SXSW 2024 Featured Session: FX’s Reservation Dogs – Indigenous Storytelling Without Bounds


SXSW 2024 Featured Session: Hollywood and Activism – Insights from Jane Fonda, David Fenton, and Sweta Chakraborty


2024 SXSW Film Award Winners:

Feature Film Grand Jury Awards

  • Grand Jury Winner – Narrative Feature: Bob Revino Likes It
  • Special Jury Award for Performance – Narrative Feature: Maria Rodríguez Soto, Mamifera
  • Special Jury Award for Filmmaking – Narrative Feature: Josephine Stewart-Te Whiu, We Were Dangerous
  • Grand Jury Winner – Documentary Feature: Grand Theft Hamlet
  • Special Jury Award for Bravery and Empathy – Documentary Feature: Carina Mia Wong and Alex Simmons, We Can Be Heroes

Short Film Grand Jury Awards (presented by You42)

  • Grand Jury Award Winner – Narrative Short: Dissolution
  • Special Jury Award – Narrative Short: Trapped
  • Grand Jury Award Winner – Documentary Short: Remember, Broken Crayons Colour Too
  • Special Jury Award – Documentary Short: Frank
  • Grand Jury Award Winner – Midnight Shorts: Transylvanie
  • Special Jury Award – Midnight Shorts: Meat Puppet
  • Grand Jury Award Winner – Animated Shorts: Wonder to Wonder
  • Special Jury Award – Animated Shorts: Bug Diner
  • Grand Jury Award Winner – Music Videos: Célen, “Mom Told You So”
  • Special Jury Award for Technical Wizardry – Music Videos: The Burning Hell, “All I Need”
  • Grand Jury Award Winner – Texas Shorts: Jedo’s Dead
  • Special Jury Award – Texas Shorts: Hair Care
  • Grand Jury Award Winner – Independent TV Pilot: Marvin Is Sorry
  • Special Jury Award – Independent TV Pilot: Halfrican American

SXSW Film Design Awards (presented by Adobe)

  • Jury Award Winner – Poster Design: 7 Beats Per Minute
  • Special Jury Award – Poster Design: If I Die in America
  • Jury Award Winner – XR Experience: The Golden Key
  • Special Jury Award – XR Experience: Soul Paint

SXSW Special Awards

  • SXSW Best Of Texas Award: Preconceived
  • Janet Pierson Champion Award: Kara Durrett
  • Kickstarter NextGen Award: Family

SXSW Audience Awards

  • Audience Award – Narrative Feature Competition: Bob Revino Likes It
  • Audience Award – Documentary Feature Competition: Resynator
  • Audience Award – Narrative Spotlight: My Dead Friend Zoe
  • Audience Award – Documentary Spotlight: Clemente
  • Audience Award – Visions: Songs from the Hole
  • Audience Award – Headliners: Monkey Man
  • Audience Award – Midnighters: Oddity
  • Audience Award – Global: Bionico’s Bachata
  • Audience Award – 24 Beats Per Second: Faders Up: The John Aielli Experience
  • Audience Award – Festival Favorites: Sing Sing
  • Audience Award – Narrative Shorts Competition: Can
  • Audience Award – Documentary Shorts Competition: Frank
  • Audience Award – Animated Shorts Competition: A Crab in the Pool
  • Audience Award – Midnight Shorts Competition: Meat Puppet
  • Audience Award – Texas Shorts Competition: Sangre Violenta/Sangre Violeta
  • Audience Award – Music Videos Competition: Dillon Francis, “LA on Acid”
  • Audience Award – TV Premieres: STAX: Soulsville, U.S.A.
  • Audience Award – TV Spotlight: Hacks Season 3 Premiere
  • Audience Award – Independent TV Pilot Competition: Neo-Dome
  • Audience Award – XR Experience Competition: Last We Left Off
  • Audience Award – XR Experience Spotlight: Emperor
  • Audience Award – XR Experience Special Event: Kiss/Crash



If you’re an independent filmmaker or know of an independent film-related topic we should write about, email for consideration.

Pin It on Pinterest