Are you feeling the spirit? Today was indie film’s special day, the 2024 FILM INDEPENDENT SPIRIT AWARDS, hosted by Aidy Bryant. SAGindie joined the festivities at the Santa Monica Pier, alongside our table mates, actors Gavin Casalegno (The Summer I Turned Pretty), Emmett Hughes (Advent), Havana Rose Liu (Bottoms), Ashley Madekew (The Strays), Aisha Tyler (Archer), and Taylor Zakhar Perez (Red, White & Royal Blue).

See the full list of nominees and winners below. Congrats to all of the films, series, actors, and filmmakers nominated this year!


2024 Spirit Awards Winners & Nominees


Feature Awards

Best Feature

Best First Feature

John Cassavetes Award (for best film made for under $1 million)

Best Director

Best Lead Performance

Best Supporting Performance

Best Breakthrough Performance

Best Screenplay

Best First Screenplay

Best Cinematography

Best Editing

Best International Feature

Best Documentary

Robert Altman Award (for best ensemble casting)

Emerging Filmmaker Awards

Someone to Watch Award

Producers Award

Truer Than Fiction Award

TV Awards

Best New Scripted Series

Best New Non-Scripted/Documentary Series

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series

Best Breakthrough Performance in a New Scripted Series

Best Ensemble in a Scripted Series


If you’re an independent filmmaker or know of an independent film-related topic we should write about, email for consideration.

Pin It on Pinterest