It’s time to show some spirit for the year’s best indie filmmaking. The 2020 FILM INDEPENDENT SPIRIT AWARDS have been announced, which honored the best movies, moviemakers, and performances of the year. The ceremony – hosted by Aubrey Plaza – took place on February 8, 2020, on the beach in Santa Monica, and aired live on IFC. SAGindie was there (along with our SAGindie tablemates Stephanie Beatriz, Yvette Nicole Brown, Aya Cash, Judith Godrèche, Hari Nef, Da’Vine Joy Randolph, Hunter Schafer, and Danielle Moné Truitt) and you can see who took home the glory with the full list of nominees and winners below.


2020 Spirit Awards Nominees & Winners:


Best Feature

Best First Feature

John Cassavetes Award (for best film made for under $500,000)

Best Director

Best Female Lead

Best Male Lead

Best Supporting Female

Best Supporting Male

Best Screenplay

Best First Screenplay

Best Cinematography

Best Editing

Best International Feature

Best Documentary

Robert Altman Award (for best ensemble casting)

2020 Spirit Awards Grants:


Someone to Watch Award

Producers Award

Truer Than Fiction Award

American Airlines Bonnie Award



If you’re an independent filmmaker or know of an independent film-related topic we should write about, email for consideration.

Pin It on Pinterest