What a day at the beach! Yes, Film Independent once again brought the people back together in Santa Monica for an in-person SPIRIT AWARDS! For the 37th year, the best in indie films, series, filmmakers, and performances were honored, and SAGindie was there to celebrate. Joining us at the SAGindie table were actors Sosie Bacon, Jay Ellis, Harvey Guillen, Brandon Scott Jones, Bianca Lawson, Scoot McNairy, and Mo McRae! The show was hosted by Megan Mullally and Nick Offerman and aired live on IFC. Check out the full list of this year’s winners and nominees below!


2022 Spirit Awards Nominees & Winners


Feature Awards

Best Feature

Best First Feature

John Cassavetes Award (for best film made for under $500,000)

Best Director

Best Female Lead

Best Male Lead

Best Supporting Female

Best Supporting Male

Best Screenplay

Best First Screenplay

Best Cinematography

Best Editing

Best International Feature

Best Documentary

Robert Altman Award (for best ensemble casting)

TV Awards

Best New Scripted Series

Best New Non-Scripted/Documentary Series

Best Female Performance in a Scripted Series

Best Male Performance in a Scripted Series

Best Ensemble in a Scripted Series

Emerging Filmmaker Awards

Someone to Watch Award

Producers Award

Truer Than Fiction Award



If you’re an independent filmmaker or know of an independent film-related topic we should write about, email blogadmin@sagindie.org for consideration.

Pin It on Pinterest